home essay contest photos essays For Teachers donate
2008 First-Place Essays

The following students were the "first-place" winners in the 2008 Young Native Writers Essay Contest. Click on the student's name to open a PDF of their essay. (NOTE: You must have the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the PDF file).

Simone Greenleaf
(Minnesota Chippewa)
Cass Lake, MN
($1,000 scholarship)
Essay #25112
Alyssa London
Bothell, WA
($5,000 scholarship)
Essay #25120 
Stormy Sagmoen
(Denai'ina Athabascan)
Anchorage, AK
($1,000 scholarship)
Essay #25140 
Christina Tsosie
Sanders, AZ
($2,500 scholarship)
Essay #25099 
Jalea Walker
(Yurok, Smith River Tolowa, Hupa, Tutuni)
Hoopa, CA
($1,000 scholarship)
Essay #25053